Creating a Memoir

4 Mar

As you all may know, I am in Middle Level Match Education. Although I am math concentrated, this major requires future teachers to take all the subject areas that “middlers” learn, including science, social studies, reading, and writing. Currently, I am taking a language arts class that focus’ on teaching language arts using technology. This class is probably the most important class for me, as a struggle with writing and technology. One of our assignments is to create a memoir. We have to pick an event that has happened in our lives and write about it using the six characteristics of writing. We also have to create a digital example of this event using VoiceThread. For me, coming up with a topic has proven most challenging. I am having a difficult time deciding on a story that is light-hearted, yet interesting. I started brainstorming a few ideas and this is what I have considered.

My first idea was to write about how I had a pet slug when I was young and how devastated I was when my sister killed it. Although this could be fun to write about, I don’t think I could come up with enough information to make it as interesting as anticipated. My second thought was writing about my pet cat, Cuddles, who would follow my sister and I to the bus stop everyday, and be there at 3:20 to pick us up every afternoon. I loved Cuddles, but, once again, I don’t think I could elaborate enough to make it an interesting read. I thought about a few other topics, but each one posed the same problem.

I finally decided that I would have to write about my mom. When we first got this assignment, I knew I would probably end up writing about her, but I really wanted to avoid this topic because it is a bit depressing. However, it is the best candidate for an interesting story. Growing up, I never had an ideal childhood. My mother and father were both “sick” and I was exposed to things that a child should never witness. Even though my childhood was troubling, my experiences have molded me into the motivated, driven, and independent adult I am today. I believe that by overcoming my past, I have become a much stronger person. Although I have concerns about sharing my story with my peers, I feel it will be beneficial for me to express myself and for others to get an understanding of where I’m from.

To create my digital story, I tried using VoiceThread. I added a few pictures to help tell my story, but I have a lot more to do before I am finished. I am considering using a different tool, but for now, click here for a rough draft.

One Response to “Creating a Memoir”

  1. megyezzo March 5, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I had a lot of difficulty choosing a topic as well. Haha, I think it would be interesting to hear about your pet slug! Though close and personal stories make for some of the best writing. It sounds like you are on your way to a great start-I can’t wait to view it when finished.

Leave a comment