Reflecting on a Memoir and My Writing Process

26 Mar

I began my memoir by first writing a list of possible topics. After I narrowed that list down, I ended up choosing a topic I was hesitant to choose. However, after I began writing the story, I was happy with my decision. I chose to write about my mom and my childhood. Even though it is a little depressing,, the story began to write itself. I found myself wording things in a way I never could before. I was able to elaborate on certain memories by giving a lot of detail, which I never really knew how to do. In addition, I was able to express to a few others about my life growing up. I never use to talk about my mothers situation, but now, I find it therapeutic.

By the end of my memoir, I felt confident that I had included the six traits of writing. I am the most proud of my “flow” because I could never really do that before. After sharing my memoir, I felt confidant that I did a good job. The only suggestions that I really had were to make a good title. I came up with the title, “Sometimes Ignorance is Bliss.”

After doing this writing process, I have found myself a much more confident writer. I am more comfortable with using the six traits of writing and it comes a little more naturally to me. The most valuable thing that I have learned from writing this memoir is that details are what makes a good paper.

I also made a digital story, which wasn’t as easy. I started using VoiceThread. I didn’t like this tool, and apparently, you cannot add music to this tool anyway. So then, I tried to use MovieMaker, which was actually on my friend’s computer. I thought that this would be the best tool because I could add music, it was free, and it seemed easy. Well I was wrong. After messing around with this tool for about 2 hours, I decided to give up. I couldn’t add music, I couldn’t customize my pictures, and it was not easy. So, I finally used Roxio PhotoShow. Once again, I thought this process would be much easier. I started adding all the photos, then it said that I couldn’t add more than 24 without paying. So I got rid of some of my photos. Then I started customizing my photos. I realized that I had to pay $40.00 to add certain songs to my PhotoShow. By this point, I became a little frustrated, so I just paid the $40.00 and tried to continue. Well, that didn’t work. I had to buy that and then I had to buy “PenPal” as well. I decided I would just add words to parts of my memoir and use the music that Roxio provided for free. What a headache! Anyway, after all the hassle, I finally finished it, here is my digital draft.

Leave a comment