Another Lesson Learned

23 Mar

 

 

Someone once said, “You learn something new everyday.” If anyone thinks differently, I’d beg to differ. I realize I have much to learn when it comes to teaching, but it is the little things that separate an experienced teacher from an inexperienced one. Today I was observing my co-op. I thought I had mastered most of the “little things” that mattered. So, when she asked me to read a few chapters from a novel, I thought, “yeah no biggy,” but I was wrong. I had only a few minutes to review the text before reading it. Those few minutes helped, but not quite enough. I began reading while sitting on a stool in front of the class. I have a little tickle in my throat, so before I started, I put a cough drop in. When I began reading, I instantly realized that this was a bad idea. I ended up drooling on myself half way through the first page. On top of that, I was wearing a skirt! Now, this skirt was long enough, but to sit comfortably on a stool in front of class, while drooling, I instantly regretted my decision.

After a few pages of trying to get comfortable, I decided I should stand up and walk around. I didn’t think this would be so difficult. I don’t know if it was because I’m not use to reading and walking, or if it was because I was trying to keep an eye on the clock, or if it was because I was distracted by the little things going on in the classroom, but I ended up stumbling a few times. I quickly decided that the stool was my best friend.

By this time, my cough drop had finally dissolved, and I had finally found a perfect place on my stool, but I noticed my students’ were not as involved in the reading as I had hoped. I couldn’t blame them. I never was a big fan of listening to a teacher read out loud. I had to do something. Before continuing on to the next chapter, I decided to review the material that I had just read. Success at last! I asked a few questions that somehow refocused my students. I also became a bit more confident and comfortable with reading and I could put more emotion into the story. By the end of the next chapter I was reading much better. But, I had no idea that is would take so much practice.

After the reading lesson, I started working on an english lesson. I outlined my ideas and shared them with my co-op. I told her that I planned on writing sentences on the board and having students underline the adjectives in each. She then pointed out a small, but crucial point. She told me to write the sentences before the class began, or to have them already written on sentence strips. This small suggestion will make a huge difference during a lesson, and I hadn’t even thought about it!

After completing an outline of my lesson, I began really observing her room. Sure, I noticed the posters on the walls before, the alphabet above the chalkboard, and the students’ names on the back of their seats, but this woman had it all! I mean, there were bulletin boards that are created weekly, new themes in her classroom every time I came in, and a library full of books, magazines, and dictionaries. This made me realize how much time, effort, and money my co-op put into the appearance of her classroom alone! I am impressed to say the least.

After today, I learned yet again, another important lesson… PREPARE, PREPARE, PREPARE… and of course… BE CREATIVE!

One Response to “Another Lesson Learned”

  1. cllezanic April 2, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    I love your recap of the day! haha Even though you had a little reading trouble in the beginning, you were able to turn things around. I worry about lessons going wrong all the time, but I think you handled the situation very well. Your experience helps to show that no matter how much time we try to prepare to become teachers, we’ll only get better with real experience in front of the classroom.

Leave a comment