Is writing all that bad?

25 Jan

I have never been an amazing writer. I struggle with my beginning thoughts and I “slack off” towards the end of a paper. Even though I struggle with the subject, I realize the importance that writing holds in our society. Because writing can take on so many different forms, people tend to not realize that they are doing it constantly. Whether you are texting a friend, or typing a resume, you are still writing! So how can anyone make the broad statement that they hate writing? I understand that in school, we are forced to write five paged papers about topics that never seem to be interesting, but that type of writing is so seldom outside of the classroom. Everyone, students especially, need to be reminded of the variety of ways to write.

Although I am not a strong writer, I have kept a journal  since I was 10 years old. By doing this, I am able to vent to something that will never judge me and I can trust that my thoughts will be kept a secret. This journal also helps me remember my past, the good and the bad. I can also see how I have grown as a writer. Thankfully, there is a big difference from how I wrote when I was ten, to how I write now. In addition, there are so many people that use writing as a tool to release. It can be therapeutic and relaxing more so than frustrating and miserable.

If it wasn’t for writing, the present would know nothing of the past. People recorded history to inform the future of the good and bad that has happened. Without the knowledge of our past, how could we as a country, have come this far?

I realize the headache that comes with writing a research paper, and I am not saying that writing is always fun, but with such diversity, is writing all that bad?

Leave a comment