Poetry by Me and Others!

13 Feb

Here are five poems that I have written. I have also added some of my favorite poems. I would love your input, so feel free to leave me a comment!

Where I’m From Poem

Beth Moore

I am from computers and technology,

The sunshine and the snow.

I am from big cat diaries and the discovery channel.

I am from Asic sneakers,

 and the trails that I run on.

Cardio kickboxing and competetive cheerleading.

I am from the sand on the beach,

 and the waves on my toes.

I am from good friends and few family members.

I am from my grandparents who raised me as their own.

I am from make-up and cosmetics,

 as well as lotions and perfumes.

I am from caring more for others more than myself.

I am from being happy and energetic.

I am from respect and most importantly,

I come from love.

 

So Much Depends Upon

(Inspired by William Carlos Williams, The Red Wheelbarrow)

Beth Moore

So much depends upon

The sun light

Permeating through

My window,

That opens my eyes

To begin the day.

 

Heart Break

Beth Moore

Take me to a place where the sun always shines,

The truth doesn’t hurt,

And there is no pain.

Because I have felt how one man can make you feel,

And from that, there was no gain.

No man can love when filled with shame,

Who waits for a chance of someone to blame.

Actions to cruel for words,

That I can’t even begin to explain,

How could I love a man so vain?

 

Be My Valentine

Beth Moore

To be with you, seems unreal.

Yet, here you are, holding me still.

Your hands fill me with every emotion,

Soothing me from the worlds commotion.

You touch my cheek, my chin, my face,

I’ve forgotten all, while in your embrace.

Kiss me now and ill surrender,

Your lips on mine,

and I’m yours,

 forever.

 

Peace

Beth Moore

The sun is shining through the dark clouds.

The dripping on the window sill,                                          

 Is slowly coming to an end.

The trees, the grass, the air,

All filled with life.

The birds are beginning to sing,

Their beautiful song of summer.

I walk outside,

Only to embrace the calmness after the storm.

I feel the cool breeze of dawn flow through my hair,

I tie my laces and take my first step,

The sound of my breath,

The freedom from my thoughts,

The sight of pure nature,

And finally,

I am at peace.

Below are poems that I found inspirational.

Promise Yourself
(one the most classic motivational poems)

From: The Optimist International

Promise yourself to be so strong that nothing can
disturb your peace of mind.

To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to
every person you meet.

To make all your friends feel like there is
something in them.

To look at the sunny side of everything and make your
optimism come true.

To think only of the best, to work only for the best,
and expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success of others
as you are about your own.

To forget the mistakes of the past and press on the
greater achievements of the future.

To wear a cheerful countenance at all times and give
every living person you meet a smile.

To give so much time to the improvement of yourself
that you have no time to criticize others.

To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, and too
strong for fear, and to happy to permit the
presence of trouble.

 

Whatif
By: Shel Silverstein

Last night, while I lay thinking here,
some Whatifs crawled inside my ear
and pranced and partied all night long
and sang their same old Whatif song:
Whatif I’m dumb in school?
Whatif they’ve closed the swimming pool?
Whatif I get beat up?
Whatif there’s poison in my cup?
Whatif I start to cry?
Whatif I get sick and die?
Whatif I flunk that test?
Whatif green hair grows on my chest?
Whatif nobody likes me?
Whatif a bolt of lightning strikes me?
Whatif I don’t grow talle?
Whatif my head starts getting smaller?
Whatif the fish won’t bite?
Whatif the wind tears up my kite?
Whatif they start a war?
Whatif my parents get divorced?
Whatif the bus is late?
Whatif my teeth don’t grow in straight?
Whatif I tear my pants?
Whatif I never learn to dance?
Everything seems well, and then
the nighttime Whatifs strike again!

 

Rise and Shine

By: Annonymous 

Oh wary heart of mine
It’s time to Rise and Shine!

Let go off the past and do not take a U-Turn
Live the moment of your choice
Rewind the past only to learn
and deafen the hurting noise!

Oh wary heart of mine..Rise and Shine!

Pray God for the strength to face
Open up and stay awake…
He’d shower blessings with lot of grace!
Give your heart & soul and do not repeat the mistake!

Oh wary heart of mine..Rise and Shine!

Be a world to someone and help them smile
Life is all about helping others
Make their stay beautiful and worthwhile!
After all they are your sisters and brothers!

Oh wary heart of mine..Rise and Shine!

Where I’m From Poem

By: Unknown

I am from hairspray
From braces and rubberbands.
I am from lightning bugs
Fluttering in the summer night sky.

I am from Belle
The cute little puppy
We rescued from the pound
And Smoky the cat
Whose death still touches my heart.

I am from Papaw’s goulash
And Momma’s pumpkin pie
From Dad’s overbearing
Protectiveness of his little girl.

I am from outrageous
Eleven foot Christmas trees
And joyous Thanksgiving feasts.

I am from French immigrants
From 1692 and New Paltz, New York

I am from Louis Bevier and Marie Le Blanc.

I am from the American dream
From broken despair and gained hope
I am the present, past, and future,
History in the making.

One Response to “Poetry by Me and Others!”

  1. Alex February 13, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    I absolutely love your poems, they are amazing. I feel like I can’t write anything that really evokes much emotion, but yours really did.

Leave a comment