The Burgeoning of Technology

20 Feb

Well, we can’t deny the growth of technology anymore and as future educators, we must embrace it. Growing up, I never realized the importance that technology played in my life. If you think about it though, can you remember not having a computer, a tv, or even a phone? Now, imagine what that question would be like to a 14-year-old. As teachers, we need to realize that if we want to deliver information to our students’ in the most effective way, we must do it in the most relatable way, technology.

In the last two years, I been exposed to so many tools that are available for teachers. Overwhelmed at first, I wanted to ignore another burden, or another thing to learn. After taking a few required courses however, I have become more comfortable and more confident with technology. I am now excited to use as many digital sources in my classroom as possible. I am aware of not the burden of technology, but the convenience of it.

Because of some of my classes, I have learned a whole new world of technology. Most of us have mastered Powerpoint by now. But I have also learned about Smartboards, SlideRocket, and Podcast. I have also become aware of the advantages of professional websites, such as this one. I learned how to create a professional database. I have learned how to use D2L, Dropbox, Moodle, and other campus websites. All of which have proved convenient, beneficial, and pretty easy to learn.

In the book, “Can We Skip Lunch and Keep Writing,” Julie Ramsay explains how useful technology has been in her fifth grade classroom.  This book provides several examples of digital tools that can be incorporated into the classroom. The book also elaborates on how to use these tools in the classroom and how each tool has their own unique benefits. In addition, it explains how to teach writing to students’ in a more exciting way. This is a great resource to show the effectiveness of technology in a classroom.I recommend this book to any educator who is ignorant to technology.

Click here to watch an interesting video about technology! 🙂

Leave a comment